The Omniscient God

Believe and have faith, for Jesus knows what is in our hearts. This is what we Christians learn in Sunday school and in sermons. It is easier said than done, in reality. The reason is that we have so many distractions in life – our jobs, our children, our aging parents, our ambition – that the last thing we want to know is an invisible force is watching and doing something.

Being humans, we always want tangible things; we believe in something only when we see or experience it. In fact, in some cultures, the people believe more in fortune tellers and horoscopes than in God! Well, to be fair, I used to be one of those people.

We need to remind ourselves that no matter what the situation we’re in, God knows our intentions, for he is our Creator, isn’t he? If you think that you can deceive God by not attending church service and then later “repent” by praying the next five consecutive days, then you’re sorely mistaken. God doesn’t operate in that way. In fact, right this moment as I pen these words, God knows what I’m thinking and feeling – and that thought and feeling are not necessarily good. Am I writing this blog out of fear that I’d be punished (by God and pastor) for not doing journaling, and for not attending disciple group meetings, or am I doing it because I really want to share my thoughts? God knows – literally! I’m still learning.

The bible itself illustrates the fact that Jesus is the Son of God, and obviously he also possessed the power of God. He has the ability to not only heal and make miracles but also is an omniscient being who knows everything about us.

When Jesus perceived their thoughts, he answered them, “Why do you question in your hearts? Which is easier, to say, ‘Your sins are forgiven you,’ or to say, ‘Rise and walk’? But that you may know that the Son of Man has authority on earth to forgive sins”—he said to the man who was paralyzed—“I say to you, rise, pick up your bed and go home.” – Luke 5:22-24

Indeed, Jesus knows everything about us, anytime, anywhere. He can perceive our thoughts. We cannot run from Him. He is the Law. Therefore, I must remind myself to do good, be good and see good always. Eventually, I’ll get there, for I too have lots of distractions every single day. I know that God will forgive me, for he is a loving and forgiving God, but I must also play my part in having faith in Him so that whatever personal burdens that I shoulder would be lifted by Him.

Leave a comment